MSA ANNUAL BOARD MEETING MONDAY, APRIL 28TH, 2025 8:00 PM - VIRTUAL ZOOM MEETING

Call to order – President Warner called the meeting to order at 8:13 p.m.

Procedure for virtual meeting – President Warner explained the procedures that will be used for displaying information, discussion, and voting during the virtual-only meeting.

Current Board members:

President - Steve Warner

Vice President - Laura Currie

Secretary – Marisa Boulton

Treasurer – Jason Gehoski

Commissioner - Jesse Stewart

Umpire in Chief - Jason Harper

At-Large members - John McPeak, Lisa Sentz, Jeremy Eastman

2024 Minutes – President Warner read the minutes from the April 15, 2024, MSA Annual Meeting. A correction was made to strike JoAnn Pobocik's name from the list of attendees. Motion by McPeak/Eastman to approve the minutes as amended – motion carried.

Treasurer's Report – Treasurer Gehoski presented the Treasurer's report (Balance Sheet, Revenue vs. Expense Report) which will be posted on the MSA website. Revenues for 2024 were \$131,069.07, expenses were \$112,451.61. Motion by Eastman/McPeak to accept the Treasurer's report – motion carried.

Rule changes/Umpire update – Gehoski reported that there were a couple of USA Softball rule changes that would affect MSA play:

Rule 6C, Section 1B Exception - (Men's, Women's and Coed Class C, D and E/REC) The pitcher may take a position from the front edge of

the pitcher's plate to 6 feet behind the pitcher's plate within the 24-inch width of the pitcher's plate with both feet firmly on the ground. Comments: Allows pitchers to position themselves up to 6 feet behind and within the 24" pitcher's plate to start their pitch.

Rule 8, Section 9A [2] 2. Any eligible player may be a courtesy runner once per inning for any player other than the pitcher. This player or any other eligible player may also courtesy run for the pitcher whenever the pitcher is on base.

Comments: Allows the same player to be the courtesy runner for the pitcher and one position player in the same half inning

Old Business

President Warner reported that the Board has had on-going discussion with City of Midland representative Karen Murphy, Public Services Director, regarding player fees. Fees will continue to be increased each year for the foreseeable future, and the city is trying to get a comprehensive list of the actual costs attributed to MSA activity.

New Business

Deadlines:

Slow-pitch team registration was April 18 (\$25 late fee now) Fast/modified-pitch team registration is May 16 Slow-pitch 12 player roster registration is May 2 Fast/modified-pitch 12 player roster registration is May 23

Non-players:

Only registered players (\$60 fee) or registered non-players (e.g. coaches, scorekeepers; \$15 fee) will be allowed on the field or in the dugouts during a game.

Website:

<u>www.midlandsoftballassociation.com</u> is the MSA's website, supported by TeamSideline.com

Bat Testing:

Bat testing dates/times will be posted shortly, testing is expected to start the week before ball begins; testing will definitely start no later than Sunday, May 11. Most testing will be done by the same crew as in 2024.

Rainout Line:

989-399-0506 or install app on mobile phone

Fees:

Player fees raised by \$5 from 2024 (to \$60), in-line with the City of Midland increase in fees charged to the MSA.

Gehoski presented a matrix of player numbers and team numbers for each division of play from 2010 through 2024. In 2010 there were 260 teams and 3,534 players in summer and fall ball; in 2024, there were 118 teams and 1,862 players in summer and fall ball.

Bylaw Voting:

No suggestions for changes to the MSA bylaws were received prior to April 14; no suggestions for changes were received from the floor

Election of Officers:

Nominating Committee presented a slate of nominees:

President - Steve Warner

Vice President/Historian - Laura Currie

Secretary - Marisa Boulton

Treasurer - Jason Gehoski

Floor nomination – for Vice President, Jeremy Eastman

2025 Executive Board, as elected by Annual Meeting attendees:

President - Steve Warner

Vice President - Jeremy Eastman

Secretary - Marisa Boulton

Treasurer - Jason Gehoski

At-Large – President to appoint at next Board meeting

Public Comment: None

Adjourn – motion to adjourn by Eastman/McPeak – motion carried.

John McPeak
Acting Secretary